nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends
North Dakota Parks and Recreation Department

Snowmobile laws

The following resources provide more information on the proper use of snowmobiles and laws that govern the use and ownership of snowmobiles in North Dakota.

Snowmobile registration

All snowmobiles operated on public land must be registered. Snowmobile registration is handled by the North Dakota Department of Transportation at any licensing office statewide. The registration fee is $50 for a two-year period. This fee is categorized into a $5 registration fee and a $45 trail tax fee and is used to properly maintain the state trail system. The fee must be paid in odd-numbered years.

Pembina Gorge Northeast Trail System

Owners of out-of-state registered snowmobiles must purchase a non-resident public trails and lands access permit, at a cost of $25 per year.

The following information is required when ordering a non-resident trail access permit:

  • Drivers license number
  • Snowmobile VIN number/s
  • Make and model
  • Color
  • Engine size
  • Current snowmobile registration number, the year of expiration, the state that issued it

Collector snowmobile registration

A collector snowmobile is a snowmobile that is 25 years old or older, was originally produced as a separate identifiable make by a manufacturer, and is owned and operated solely as a collector's item.